Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Retentions ban wins backing from 120 MPs

Dozens of MPs have come out in support of abolishing the existing retentions system, according to the Building Engineering Services Association.

The BESA, Electrical Contractors’ Association and SEC Group claim that 120 MPs have confirmed support for new laws that would place retentions into independently held protection schemes.

The BESA has compiled a list of MPs it says have backed at least one of two parliamentary motions that call for the change.

It includes backers of the 10-minute ‘Aldous Bill’ introduced in January by Conservative MP Peter Aldous, which proposes the introduction of a retention deposit scheme, similar to the tenancy deposit scheme.

The list also has supporters of an early day motion from Labour MP James Frith, titled Carillion and Small Business Payments, that calls for government action on an array of payment practices, including the creation of an independent retention deposit scheme.

Early day motions are suggestions for debate topics submitted by MPs designed to raise awareness to a particular issue.

Other MPs can show their support by signing the motion, although it’s rare for one to reach the floor of the Commons.

The compiled list features backers from all major parties, with the 120 figure representing one in six MPs.

Prominent MPs listed include shadow chancellor John Macdonald, defence secretary Gavin Williamson and culture secretary Matt Hancock, as well as Ken Clarke and shadow BEIS minister Rebecca Long Bailey.

Liberal Democrat leader Sir Vince Cable and Green Party head Caroline Lucas are also on the list.  

MPs supporting retentions ban

BESA list: (Con 29, Lab 68, Lib Dem 5, SNP 12, DUP 3, Plaid 2, Green 1)

  • Debbie Abrahams (Lab)
  • Peter Aldous (Con)
  • Mike Amesbury (Lab)
  • Tonia Antoniazzi (Lab)
  • Hannah Bardell (SNP)
  • Henry Bellingham (Con)
  • Peter Bottomley (Con)
  • Thomas Brake (Lib Dem)
  • Alan Brown (SNP)
  • Vince Cable (Lib Dems)
  • Ronnie Campbell (Lab)
  • Alex Chalk (Con)
  • Douglas Chapman (SNP)
  • Jo Churchill (Con)
  • Kenneth Clarke (Con)
  • Rosie Cooper (Lab)
  • Robert Courts (Con)
  • David Crausby (Lab)
  • Jim Cunningham (Lab)
  • Martyn Day (SNP)
  • Emma Dent Coad (Lab)
  • Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi (Lab)
  • David Drew (Lab)
  • Jack Dromey (Lab)
  • Rosie Duffield (Lab)
  • Jonathan Edwards (Plaid Cymru)
  • Louise Ellman (Lab)
  • Bill Esterson (Lab)
  • Paul Farrelly (Lab)
  • Jim Fitzpatrick (Lab)
  • James Frith (Lab)
  • Hugh Gaffney (Lab)
  • Mike Gapes (Lab)
  • Ruth George (Lab)
  • Stephen Gethins (SNP)
  • Patricia Gibson (SNP)
  • Roger Godsiff (Lab)
  • Kate Green (Lab)
  • Matt Hancock (Con)
  • Harriet Harman (Lab)
  • Helen Hayes (Lab)
  • Gordon Henderson (Con)
  • Drew Hendry (SNP)
  • Wera Hobhouse (Lib Dem)
  • Margaret Hodge (Lab)
  • Kevin Hollinrake (Con)
  • Philip Hollobone (Con)
  • Eddie Hughes (Con)
  • Rupa Huq (Lab)
  • David Jones (Con)
  • Gillian Keegan (Con)
  • Gerard Killen (Lab)
  • Stephen Kinnock (Lab)
  • Ben Lake (Plaid Cymru)
  • Jeremy Lefroy (Con)
  • Oliver Letwin (Con)
  • Stephen Lloyd (Lib Dem)
  • Tony Lloyd (Lab)
  • Rebecca Long-Bailey (Lab)
  • Tim Loughton (Con)
  • Caroline Lucas (Green)
  • Anne Main (Con)
  • Seema Malhotra (Lab)
  • Sandy Martin (Lab)
  • Kerry McCarthy (Lab)
  • Stuart C McDonald (SNP)
  • John McDonnell (Lab)
  • McFadden, Pat (Lab)
  • Alison McGovern (Lab)
  • Catherine McKinnell (Lab)
  • Anna McMorrin (Lab)
  • Nigel Mills (Con)
  • Layla Moran (Con)
  • Grahame M Morris (Lab)
  • Gavin Newlands (SNP)
  • Fiona Onasanya (Lab)
  • Teresa Pearce (Lab)
  • Mike Penning (Con)
  • Jess Phillips (Lab)
  • Daniel Poulter (Con)
  • Mark Prisk (Con)
  • Faisal Rashid (Lab)
  • Ellie Reeves (Lab)
  • Emma Reynolds (Lab)
  • Marie Rimmer (Lab)
  • Gavin Robinson (DUP)
  • Andrew Rosidell (Con)
  • Lloyd Russell-Moyle (Lab)
  • Naseem Shah (Lab)
  • Jim Shannon (DUP)
  • Virendra Sharma (Lab)
  • Barry Sheerman (Lab)
  • Tulip Siddiq (Lab)
  • David Simpson (DUP)
  • Dennis Skinner (Lab)
  • Ruth Smeeth (Lab)
  • Gareth Snell (Lab)
  • Alex Sobel (Lab)
  • Anna Soubry (Con)
  • John Spellar (Lab)
  • Christopher Stephens (SNP)
  • Jo Stevens (Lab)
  • Wes Streeting (Lab)
  • Alison Thewliss (SNP)
  • Maggie Throup (Con)
  • John Trickett (Lab)
  • Stephen Twigg (Lab)
  • Liz Twist (Lab)
  • Ed Vaizey (Con)
  • Thelma Walker (Lab)
  • David Warburton (Con)
  • Catherine West (Lab)
  • Matt Western (Lab)
  • Gavin Williamson (Con)
  • Martin Whitfield (Lab)
  • Philippa Whitford (SNP)
  • Paul Williams (Lab)
  • Mohammad Yasin (Lab)
  • Daniel Zeichner (Lab)

Tell us your experience of payment practices

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.