Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

A who’s who guide to Theresa May's new government

See who’s bagged a ministerial role following Theresa May’s appointment as prime minister.

New ministers collage Jul 2016

New ministers collage Jul 2016

Secretaries of state

  • Sajid Javid: communities and local government
  • Chris Grayling: transport
  • Justine Greening: education
  • Greg Clark: business, energy and industrial strategy
  • Liam Fox: International Trade

Main ministerial appointments and responsibilities 

  • John Hayes: transport minister, with responsibility for Highways England, Modern Transport Bill, skills and innovation and built environment.
  • Robert Halfon: education minister, with responsibility for skills.
  • Paul Maynard: rail (including housing development) minister. He is also responsible for rail security and light rail.
  • Andrew Jones: transport minister, with responsibilities including HS2, local transport and transport aspects of the Northern Powerhouse.
  • Andrew Percy: Northern Powerhouse minister.
  • A construction minister has yet to be appointed, although the government has said this will be confirmed in the coming days.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.