Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Dame Zaha Hadid dies, aged 65

Dame Zaha Hadid, winner of the Royal Gold Medal for architecture in 2016, has died aged 65.

Sources told Construction News’ sister title The Architects’ Journal she died of a heart attack in a hospital in Miami where she was being treated for bronchitis.

The Iraqi-born architect’s world-famous designs include the 2012 London Aquatics Centre, the BMW Central Building in Leipzig and the Guangzhou Opera House in China.

Dame Zaha was named the first female winner of the RIBA Gold Medal in her own right this year, and won the Stirling Prize in 2010 and 2011.

Born in Baghdad in 1950, she studied at the Architectural Association in London before becoming a partner at the Office for Metropolitan Architecture in Rotterdam in 1977.

Her first major built commission was the Vitra Fire Station in Weil Am Rhein, Germany, in 1993.

Projects currently being tendered by Zaha Hadid Architects include Heathrow’s proposed Terminal Six.

RIBA president Jane Duncan said: “This is absolutely terrible news. Dame Zaha Hadid was an inspirational woman, and the kind of architect one can only dream of being. Visionary and highly experimental, her legacy despite her young age, is formidable.

“She leaves behind a body of work from buildings to furniture, footwear and cars, that delight and astound people all around the world.

“It was only last month that I had the enviable task of awarding Zaha the 2016 Royal Gold Medal for architecture – she was delighted to receive the recognition and adds the medal to an amazing collection of awards, not least winning the RIBA Stirling Prize two years running. The world of architecture has lost a star today.”



Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.