Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

CN Specialists Awards 2013 shortlist announced

The hotly anticipated shortlist for Construction News’ Specialists Awards 2013 has been announced. The Specialists Awards are the only national awards for specialist contractors in the UK, and competition for a place on the shortlist is fierce: find out who this year’s contenders are in full below!

Access & Scaffolding Specialist of the Year

  • Admiral Scaffolding Group
  • AFI-Uplift
  • Chris Sedgeman Scaffolding
  • Hertel
  • Nationwide Platforms
  • Network Scaffolding Contractors
  • RDG Engineering
  • WEB Rigging Services


Apprentice of the Year
Sponsored by CITB Construction Skills

  • Admiral Scaffolding Group - Richard Withers
  • Crest Nicholson Regeneration - Ashley Samson
  • Crest Nicholson Regeneration - Phil Gerrard
  • Cumberland Construction - Matthew Daniell
  • J. Murphy & Sons - Shane McHugh
  • KTD Facades - Mateusz Turniak
  • Nationwide Platforms - Scott Glen


Business Growth

  • D-Drill
  • Diamond Facilities Support
  • Godiva Scaffolding
  • Hughes and Salvidge
  • MAC Roofing & Contracting
  • Masterton
  • Premier Electrics
  • Van Elle


Concrete Specialist of the Year
Sponsored by Construct

  • Gunite (Eastern)
  • Galglass
  • Lafarge Aggregates and Concrete UK
  • VolkerLaser


Demolition Specialist of the Year

  • Cantillon
  • The EDS Group
  • Erith Contractors
  • Keltbray Group
  • Lee Demolition
  • Masterton
  • The O’Brien Group
  • Safedem


Finishing & Fit Out Specialist of the Year

  • Cumberland Construction
  • Damage Doctor (FTA Repairs t/a)
  • Horbury Group
  • Lucas Fit Out (S Lucas Group)
  • Mivan
  • PiLON
  • Space0


Fire Protection Specialist of the Year

  • Fire Design Solutions
  • Gunfire (trading division of Gunite (Eastern))
  • SCS Group
  • SIV Fire Protection
  • Trenton Fire


Ground Engineering Specialist of the Year

  • Aspin Group
  • Balfour Beatty Ground Engineering
  • Bauer Technologies
  • Cementation Skanska
  • Groundforce
  • Hydrock
  • Van Elle


Health & Safety Excellence
Sponsored by THSP

  • Cantillon
  • Concrete Repairs
  • Gunite (Eastern)
  • J. Murphy & Sons
  • Merryhill Envirotec
  • Nationwide Platforms
  • PiLON


Low Carbon Excellence

  • Alumet
  • Cementation Skanska
  • FM Conway
  • Lucion Environmental
  • McGrath Group
  • Skanska Rashleigh Weatherfoil


Project of the Year (subcontract up to £500k)

  • David Dexter Associates - London Zoo Tiger Territory
  • David Dexter Associates - The Lakes, Kuwait
  • Garners Food Service Equipment - Wolverhampton Wanderers New North (Stan Cullis) Stand
  • GML Group - Horton Wood
  • Gunfire (trading division of Gunite (Eastern) - Ascham Homes
  • Hare & Humphreys - Gloriana
  • Shipley Structures - Maggies Cancer Caring Centre, Nottingham City Hospital
  • Sidey - Grand Bouet for Guernsey Housing Association
  • TRI Contracting Services - Emirates Airline/Thames Cable Car


Project of the Year (subcontract over £500k)

  • Briggs & Forrester - The Hippodrome Casino, Leicester Square, London
  • Elliott - Jaguar Land Rover Warwickshire
  • Erith Contractors - Bradwell
  • Freyssinet - Hammersmith Flyover Strengthening
  • Hughes and Salvidge - Outokumpu - Decommissioning of Cold Rolling Plant, Sheffield
  • NG Bailey - ‘The Spine’ at Birmingham New Street Station
  • PCE - Featherstone 2 Category B Prison now renamed HMP Oakwood
  • SCS Group - Westfield Stratford City
  • Sheet Piling (UK) - Great Yarmouth Outer Harbour Extension


Roofing Specialist of the Year

  • BBS Green Roofing
  • Fildes Roofing
  • Forster Roofing Services
  • Geoff Neal Roofing
  • KGM Roofing
  • Liquid Roofing
  • M.R.Site Services


Site Preparation & Services Specialist of the Year

  • Astra Site Services
  • D-Drill
  • The EDS Group
  • Groundforce
  • Lucion Environmental
  • Power On Connections


Steelwork Specialist of the Year

  • Billington Structures
  • David Dexter Associates
  • S H Structures
  • W A Browne (Building Services)


Training Excellence

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.