Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Finalists revealed: Construction News Awards 2013 shortlist announced

Construction News today reveals the companies shortlisted at the industry’s biggest awards event.

The Construction News Awards 2013 will be the best and most competitive yet. Our rigorous judging process ensures that these awards recognise the very best companies, projects and initiatives in construction today.

It makes them the most valuable awards in the industry; to be shortlisted for, and to win. The prestige that comes with winning a CN Award helps bring further success to many businesses, year after year.

The 50-strong panel of judges features many of the biggest names in construction: top clients, the best contractors and a host of consultants, government officials and industry experts.

Having already impressed them once to make the shortlist, the companies below now have the chance to wow our fantastic panel of judges face to face on judging day.

Please join us in congratulating all those shortlisted for a prestigious Construction News Award 2013.

Best Use of Technology

  • Aggregate Industries, Bar-Tec Implementation (Aggregate Industries working with MOBA)
  • Costain, MARIO (Mass Asset Recognition and Intelligent Optimisation)
  • Kier, Mercury 4GEE Site connectivity solution
  • Laing O’Rourke, Royal Victoria Building, Edinburgh
  • Reactec, HAVmeter
  • TC Harrison JCB, TaskMaster
  • VolkerWessels UK, Workspace Platform

BIM Initiative of the Year

  • 4Projects
  • Balfour Beatty, Heathrow T2B - Effective use of BIM in support of construction delivery
  • Crossrail
  • Great Portland Estates and Mace, 240 Blackfriars
  • Laing O’Rourke, Ryder Architecture, Manchester City Council, NG Bailey, Davis Langdon, The Manchester Town Hall Complex Transformation Programme
  • NBS, NBS National BIM Library
  • Skanska UK, Woodlands School, Essex
  • Thomas Vale Construction, InFormed Education

Construction Consultancy of the Year

  • EC Harris
  • Faithful+Gould
  • Jackson Coles LLP
  • Mace
  • Mott MacDonald
  • Rider Levett Bucknall
  • Turner & Townsend

Contractor of the Year

Sponsored by SIG

  • Clugston Construction
  • Galliford Try
  • Mace
  • McLaren Construction Group
  • MWH
  • Sir Robert McAlpine
  • Skanska UK
  • Willmott Dixon

Digital Built Britain Award

Sponsored by UK BIM Task Group in association with BIS, Cabinet Office and the Construction Industry Council

  • Amtech Group, Amtech XG
  • GoReport
  • Mott MacDonald, BIM/STEPS Interface
  • NBS, NBS Create
  • SAP, Virtual Design and Construction
  • The Commercial Applications Company, TIM (Tunnel Information Management)
  • The PODFather eTicketing for Earthworks, Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park

Employer of the Year

  • Aggregate Industries
  • Ainscough Crane Hire
  • GAP Group
  • JLES Group
  • Kier Group
  • Thomas Vale Construction

Health & Safety Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by THSP

  • Balfour Beatty, Balfour Beatty M4M5 Managed Motorway Scheme
  • BarhaleWSP, Yorkshire Water Amp 5 Framework Partner
  • Clugston Construction
  • Lanes Group - Lanes for Drains, What Good Looks Like
  • Skanska Balfour Beatty JV, Zero Harm Initiative
  • VolkerFitzpatrick, Incident and Injury Free (IIF)

Are you on the shortlist? Or fancy the opportunity to network with all these businesses - plus many more key contacts - at the industry’s biggest awards event of the year? Click here to book your table now! Or call Shane Murphy on 020 3033 2657 to reserve your seats.

Product Innovation of the Year

  • Aggregate Industries, Thermastore
  • A-one+ & Highway Resource Solutions, Intellicone
  • Casella, Multi Agent Monitor “MAM”
  • Nationwide Platforms, SkySiren
  • RMD Kwikform, Ascent Safety Screen
  • Scaffolding Solutions, Skaftray
  • Uzin, UZIN L3 Gold Moisture Control System
  • Ventive , Ventive PVHR

Project of the Year (under £10m)

  • Base Structures/ ISG, Up at The O2
  • G F Tomlinson Building, Si Yuan Centre - School of Contemporary Chinese Studies
  • G F Tomlinson Building, Institute of Mental Health
  • Galliford Try Civil Engineering England and Wales, West Rhyl Coastal Defence Scheme
  • Interserve, Richmond Hill Primary School
  • Mansell, a Balfour Beatty brand, Tynemouth Station Restoration
  • Morgan Sindall Grontmij Joint Venture (MGJV), Cudworth WwTW

Project of the Year (between £10m - £50m)

Sponsored by Maxim Eyes

  • Amey, Hammersmith Flyover Strengthening Phase 1
  • Costain Group, Heathrow Terminal 3 HBS Replacement
  • London Underground, Accelerated Cooling the Tube
  • Morgan Sindall, Heathrow Energy Centre
  • Morgan Sindall, 6 Agar Street refurbishment
  • Narec, National Renewable Energy Centre
  • Sir Robert McAlpine, Exeter Forum
  • Taylor Woodrow BAM Nuttall JV & London Underground, Northern line lower concourse tunnel

Project of the Year (over £50m)

Sponsored by Nationwide Platforms

  • BAM Nuttall, Olympic Park
  • Carillion, A1 Dishforth to Leeming - Carillion-Morgan Sindall JV
  • Kier, HMP Oakwood (formerly known as HMP Featherstone 2)
  • Mace, The Shard
  • Sir Robert McAlpine, Emirates Arena & Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome
  • Skanska, UCH Macmillan Cancer Centre
  • Skanska Balfour Beatty JV, M25 DBFO Widening J16-23 & J27-30 & Refurbishment of Hatfield Tunnel

Specialist Contractor of the Year

Sponsored by Lakesmere

  • Cantillon
  • Groundforce
  • Multitech Site Services
  • NG Bailey
  • The Roofline Group
  • Van Elle
  • VolkerLaser

Supply Chain Excellence of the Year

  • Cemex, on behalf of CEMEX/AI JV
  • HE Simm, Focus 30
  • Lloyds Banking Group, EC Harris, Havelock Europa, ISG, Sharkeys, Styles & Wood and Wates, Lloyds Banking Group - One Construction Alliance
  • Scape, in partnership with F+G, Pick Everard, Willmott Dixon and Kier
  • Skanska UK

Sustainable Company of the Year

Sponsored by Imtech

  • Aggregate Industries
  • Eurocell
  • FM Conway
  • Jewson
  • McNicholas
  • Speedy Services
  • Wates Group

Sustainable Project of the Year

Sponsored by H+H

  • BAM Nuttall, Olympic Park
  • Clegg Construction, Energy Technologies Building for The University of Nottingham
  • David Morley Architects
  • Imtech, Northumbrian Water
  • Keepmoat
  • Marks and Spencer, M&S Cheshire Oaks
  • Seddon Construction
  • Skanska Balfour Beatty JV, M25 Widening

Tomorrow’s Company

  • Alumet System (UK)
  • FK Group
  • MAC Roofing & Contracting
  • N A Curtain Walling
  • S H Structures
  • S Lucas
  • Sustainable Building Services (UK)
  • Van Elle

Training Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by CITB Construction Skills

  • BAM Nuttall, Beyond Zero
  • C Skills, UKCG, Wates Group, Skanska and Costain, Site Environmental Awareness Training
  • Clarkson Evans, Electrical Apprenticeship Programme
  • Costain Group, Costain Training and Talent Team
  • Kier Group
  • MWH
  • PiLON

Congratulations to all those who have made the shortlist. If you want to be there on the night to network with all these businesses - plus many more key contacts - at the industry’s biggest awards event of the year, click here to book your table now! Or call Shane Murphy on 020 3033 2657 to reserve your seats.