Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

CABE reveals Crossrail design panel

CABE has revealed its design panel for seven new stations under the £16 billion Crossrail programme.

The Crossrail design review panel, chaired by former CABE commissioner Les Sparks OBE, has been set up to provide expert advice on the quality of designs for the new Crossrail stations and the buildings above them. It will be vice-chaired Ken Shuttleworth.

Crossrail, scheduled to open in 2017, will have a major impact on London’s transport network by providing high-frequency rail access into and across London, running from Maidenhead and Heathrow through central London to Shenfield and Abbey Wood.

The new CABE panel will begin its work early in 2009 and will assess designs for new stations in Paddington, Bond Street, Tottenham Court Road, Farringdon, Liverpool Street, Whitechapel and Custom House.

Mr Sparks said: “This initiative with Crossrail shows a commitment to ensure that this huge investment in transport infrastructure results in exceptional buildings that Londoners can be proud of.

“Design quality is critical for the new stations to operate effectively. But we also want to see them adding considerably to the quality of the environment around them.”

Members of CABE’s Crossrail design review panel are:

Les Sparks OBE, chair - CABE Fellow

Ken Shuttleworth, vice-chair - CABE commissioner, Make Architects

Simon Allford - Allford Hall Monaghan Morris

Alan Baxter - Alan Baxter Associates

Peter Braithwaite - CLM, Delivery Partner, Olympic Delivery Authority

Hanif Kara - Adams Kara Taylor

Esther Kurland - Urban Design London

Ian Sharratt - Pringle Richards Sharratt Architects

Neven Sidor - Grimshaw

Martin Stockley - Martin Stockley Associates

Tim Stonor - Space Syntax

Clare Wright - Wright & Wright Architects