Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Frontrunner councils for Community Infrastructure Levy named

The government has revealed the names of 20 more councils that have joined the Community Infrastructure Levy Front Runners project.

The councils will joint the eight authorities already announced as among the first areas to implement the new Community Infrastructure Levy.

The project is designed to help the authorities develop ways of implementing the reformed levy in their areas.

The levy gives councils more choice in how they fund infrastructure and the government estimates it has the potential to raise £1 billion a year of funding by 2016.

Decentralisation minister Greg Clark said:  “Yet again we’ve seen a lot of enthusiasm from councils eager to introduce the reformed Community Infrastructure Levy, to ensure the many benefits development can bring are not lost to local communities.

“This second wave of Front Runners will ensure local neighbourhoods reap the rewards from growth in their areas and provide valuable lessons others can learn from in the future.”

Each Front Runner will have access to a tailored package of support from the Planning Advisory Service to help them set a charge for their area. 

This will include group workshops and good practice advice.

The 20 councils selected for phase two of the Front Runners project are:

  • London Borough of Barnet
  • Barnsley Metropolitan Council
  • Bristol City Council
  • Cambridgeshire Horizons (East Cambs District Council & Huntingdonshire District Council )
  • Chelmsford Borough Council
  • London Borough of Croydon
  • Elmbridge Borough Council
  • Gedling Borough Council
  • Havant Borough Council
  • London Borough of Islington
  • Milton Keynes Council
  • Oxford City Council
  • Plymouth City Council
  • Redcar and Cleveland Council
  • St Helens Council
  • London Borough of Sutton
  • Swindon Borough Council
  • Torbay Council
  • London Borough of Wandsworth
  • Wycombe District Council

They follow the first batch of frontrunners announced in March, and including:

  • Newark and Sherwood District Council
  • Shropshire Council
  • Greater London Authority
  • London Borough of Redbridge
  • Colchester Borough Council and Essex County Council
  • Greater Norwich Development Partnership (GNDP)
  • Bolton Council and Mid Devon District Council.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.