Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

In pictures: 2014 RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the 2014 Riba Stirling Prize has been revealed.

The finalists are:

  • Everyman Theatre (Haworth Tompkins; contractor - Gilbert Ash)
  • Library of Birmingham (Mecanoo; contractor - Carillion)
  • London Aquatics Centre (Zaha Hadid; contractor - Balfour Beatty)
  • The Shard (Renzo Piano; contractor - Mace)
  • London School of Economics - Saw Swee Hock Student Centre (O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects; contractor - Osborne)
  • Manchester School of Art (Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios; contractor - Morgan Sindall)

Stephen Hodder, RIBA president and the first winner of the RIBA Stirling Prize (1996), said: “Every one of the six shortlisted buildings shows what great public architecture can do: it can transcend mere construction to something quite poetic.

“The shortlist comprises no ordinary new swimming pool, office block, theatre, library or university – they are beautiful, inspiring and transformative new buildings that their communities can relish and be proud of.

“This RIBA Stirling Prize shortlist is sending out the clear message that great buildings don’t only need great architects and clients but they need the patronage of the community they have been designed to serve if they are to be truly successful.”

“The shortlisted buildings are all major new additions to an already dense urban fabric in the cities they serve. However, they are remarkably crafted buildings and the closer you look at their detail, both internally and externally, and their materiality, the more impressive they become. The RIBA Stirling Prize judges have the most unenviable task in having to pick one winner.”

The winner of the 2014 RIBA Stirling Prize will be announced on Thursday 16 October.

The 2014 RIBA Stirling Prize judges, who will visit the six shortlisted buildings and select the winner on 16 October, are: Spencer de Grey – Chair (Foster and Partners), MJ Long (Long and Kentish architects), Cindy Walters (Walters and Cohen), Stephen Kieran (Kieran Timberlake) and Sir Timothy Sainsbury.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.