Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

New ministers fill rail, housing and Northern Powerhouse posts but none yet named for construction role

The industry is waiting to hear who will be the new construction minister after prime minister Theresa May’s extensive government reshuffle.

Junior posts are still being filled and departments are yet to finish allocating portfolios among their ministers.

However, some changes have been confirmed, including the identity of the new housing and planning minister. Gavin Barwell will succeed Brandon Lewis, who has moved to the Home Office.

Housing responsibility continues to sit within the Department for Communities and Local Government under its new secretary of state Sajid Javid. Mr Barwell will also be minister for London.

He was elected Conservative MP for Croydon Central in 2010 and before entering parliament worked for the Conservative Party as its chief operating officer. He was councillor in Croydon from 1998 to 2010 and served as a whip until last week’s reshuffle.

Andrew Percy, MP for Brigg and Goole, has said on his website that he has been appointed as DCLG minister responsible for the Northern Powerhouse, replacing James Wharton.

Marcus Jones continues as a junior minister in the department, while Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth joins DCLG from the former Department of Energy and Climate Change to handle departmental business in the House of Lords.

Lord O’Neill has been retained as the commercial secretary to the Treasury, with overall responsibility for the Northern Powerhouse, city devolution, infrastructure and corporate finance including PFI.

At the Department for Transport, new secretary of state Chris Grayling is joined by John Hayes as minister of state – effectively the department’s number two – while Blackpool North and Clevelyes MP Paul Maynard has been named rail minister following the resignation of Claire Perry.

Andrew Jones and Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon remain as ministers but have not yet had roles allocated.

Greg Clark’s new Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy is understood to not yet have its full complement of ministers.

Those named so far are Jo Johnson – in a joint appointment with the Department for Education – Baroness Neville-Rolfe, Nick Hurd and Margot James. Their responsibilities are yet to be assigned.

Skills policy has been removed from the old BIS department and put in the DfE, where a spokeswoman said it was not yet known which minister would take responsibility for the policy.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.