Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Brandon Lewis keeps housing as Cameron appoints transport, northern powerhouse, communities ministers

Prime minister David Cameron is continuing to set out his ministerial team following the Conservative Party’s victory in last week’s general election.

Brandon Lewis has been confirmed as continuing in his role of housing minister following confusion over the appointment yesterday afternoon.

At one point yesterday, according to his Department for Communities and Local Government biography, Mark Francois was given responsibility for housing. However this was later deleted and this morning Greg Clark seemed to have been given the brief.

Mr Lewis was first appointed to the role in July 2014, following the 10 months tenure of Kris Hopkins. At the time he became the fourth housing minister in less than three years, following Mark Prisk and Grant Shapps.

James Wharton has been given responsibility for the ‘northern powerhouse’ after being named as parliamentary under secretary of state at the Department for Communities and Local Goverment.

Mr Wharton is an MP for Stockton South.

The northern powerhouse concept is one promoted by the chancellor through the construction of a new high-speed rail link between Manchester and Leeds.

Andrew Jones has been named as parliamentary under secretary of state at the Department for Transport.

The former under secretary was Robert Goodwill, whose responsibilities included aviation and HS1.

Nick Boles remains at the Department of Business as minister for skills with responsibility for trade union and employment law.

He had responsibility for construction as part of his brief up until the general election, but it is not yet known whether he will retain the construction remit given his enlarged role.

A BIS source said the departmental briefs were still being finalised as Mr Cameron continued to name his governmental team.

Greg Hands will become chief secretary to the Treasury and will attend Cabinet.

He replaces Danny Alexander, who co-chaired the National Infrastructure Plan Strategic Engagement Forum with the Association for Consultancy and Engineering chief executive Nelson Ogunshakin.

Matt Hancock has moved from the Department for Business to the Cabinet Office.

The PM tweeted that he would “pursue efficiency and civil service reform” and will attend Cabinet.

Greg Clark has replaced Eric Pickles as communities secretary.

Mr Clark was formerly universities, science and cities minister at the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.

That role has been given to Jo Johnson.

Anna Soubry has been appointed as a minister for small business and will attend Cabinet.

The Conservative MP for Broxtowe was previously a minister at the Ministry of Defence.

Patrick McLoughlin retains his role as transport secretary.

Mr McLoughlin will continue in the role, where he will oversee transport strategy and the progress of HS2.

Sajid Javid has been appointed as the new business secretary.

After Vince Cable lost his Twickenham seat on Friday, Mr Javid was installed as favourite for the role, which was confirmed by the PM this morning.

Mr Javid was formerly a parliamentary private secretary to chancellor George Osborne.

Mr Cameron this morning confirmed that Boris Johnson will be invited to attend the political cabinet, as well as continuing his role as London’s mayor until next year.

Amber Rudd has been promoted to the role of energy secretary. The former climate change minister takes the role vacated by former Liberal Democrat MP Ed Davey, who lost his seat on Friday.

Priti Patel has been named minister for employment at the Department for Work and Pensions.

Among the positions the construction industry will look out for are the minister holding the brief for construction within the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, a role formerly held by Nick Boles.

Housing minister Brandon Lewis is still to learn what role he will play in a new government, while skills and the chief secretary to the Treasury roles will also be filled.

Chancellor George Osborne has been reappointed to his post already, while Nicky Morgan was confirmed as education secretary at the weekend, having taken the role in last year’s reshuffle when Michael Gove was named chief whip.

It has been reported that the chancellor will now consider holding an emergency budget within the next month ahead of an autumn spending review.

Construction News will bring you all the appointments as they are confirmed today.

Ministers confirmed to date are:

Patrick McLoughlin - transport secretary

Amber Rudd energy and climate change secretary

Anna Soubry - minister for small business

Nick Boles - minister for skills

Priti Patel - minister for employment

Robert Halfon - deputy chairman of the Conservative Party

George Osborne - first secretary of state and chancellor

Jo Johnson - minister for universities and science

Theresa May - home secretary

Philip Hammond - foreign secretary

Michael Fallon - defence secretary

Michael Gove - justice secretary

John Hayes - minister for security

Chris Grayling - leader of the House of Commons

Nicky Morgan - education secretary and minister for women and equalities

Mark Harper - chief whip

Baroness Stowell - leader of the House of Lords and Lord Privy Seal

John Whittingdale - secretary for culture, media and sport

Liz Truss - secretary for the environment, food and rural affairs

David Mundell - secretary for Scotland

Mark Francois - communities minister (with responsibility for housing)

Ros Altman - pensions minister

Francis Maude - trade minister

Andrea Leadsom - climate change minister

Justine Greening - secretary of state at the Department for International Development

Theresa Villiers - secretary for Northern Ireland

Penny Mordaunt - armed forces minister

Edward Timpson - minister for children and families

Anne Milton - deputy chief whip

Alistair Burt - minister for health

Philip Dunne - minister for defence procurement

Therese Coffey - deputy leader of the House of Commons

Jeremy Hunt - secretary for health

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.