Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Gove reveals 42 schools set for priority capital funding

A priority list of schools will be funded through capital grants due to their urgent need of repair.

Mr Gove admitted that due to the severe condition of some schools, “urgent action is necessary” and announced the government will make a limited amount of capital available to 42 schools including special schools and those in the worst condition.

The priority schools will be funded through a £400m capital grant allocation. A total of 261 priority schools will receive funding of £2.4bn, with 326 schools set to miss out.

The full list is as follows:

Barnet: Pardes House Primary School

Birmingham: Hallmoor School; Heathlands Junior and Infant School

Blackpool: Highfurlong School

Bristol: St Ursula’s E-ACT Academy

Cambridgeshire: The Manor

Cheshire West and Chester: Highfield Community Primary School

Coventry: Alice Stevens School; Ernesford Grange Community School; Richard Lee Primary School; St Thomas More Catholic Primary School;
Whitmore Park Primary School and Wyken Croft Primary School

Derby: Lees Brook Community School

Devon: Haytor View Community Primary School

Durham: Durham Trinity School and Sports College; West Cornforth Primary School

Essex: The Edith Borthwick School

Gateshead: Hill Top School

Greenwich: The Eltham Foundation School

Halton: The Heath School

Hertfordshire: Garston Manor School

Isle of Wight: Oakfield C of E Aided Primary School

Kent: Laleham Gap School; The Canterbury Primary School

Lambeth: Lansdowne School

Liverpool: Aigburth High School; Redbridge High School

Manchester: Camberwell Park Specialist Support School

Newham: Stratford School Academy

Nottinghamshire: Fountaindale School

Poole: Montacute School

Sheffield: Fox Hill Primary School; Prince Edward Primary School

Southampton: The Cedar School

St. Helens: Mill Green School

Stockton-on-Tees: Ian Ramsey C of E Aided Comprehensive School

Sunderland: Usworth Grange Primary School

Tameside: Holden Clough Community Primary School; Silver Springs Academy

Waltham Forest: Hawkswood Primary PRU

Wirral: Foxfield School

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.