Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Government reveals housing zones shortlist

The government has shortlisted 29 areas outside London, which are each bidding to become one of 10 new housing zones in the country.

The shortlisted zones include Preston, Sheffield-Rotherham, Stoke City, South Bristol, and Hinkley.

The £200m housing zones initiative was launched by the government to increase the delivery of new homes on brownfield sites.

Successful bids will receive a share of the funding for infrastructure and land remediation on their sites.

They will also have access to cheaper borrowing from the Public Works Loan Board - the board that lends to local authorities from the National Loans Fund - and planning and technical support.

The housing zones are expected to be big enough for between 750 and 2,000 homes.

The initiative follows mayor of London, Boris Johnson’s, £400m housing zone’s scheme, which aims to create 20 new zones in the capital.   

Homes and Communities Agency chief executive Andy Rose said: “Housing zones are an opportunity to unlock redundant brownfield land with the potential to provide viable housing developments.

“So I am pleased to see the projects shortlisted under our programme, which will contribute to much-needed new homes and successful places.”

The 29 areas shortlisted to become housing zones are:

  • Thurrock Thames-Side Towns (Thurrock council)
  • Elstree Way Corridor (Hertsmere borough council)
  • Slyfield Area Regeneration Project (Guildford borough council)
  • Suffolk Rural Growth Housing Zone (Babergh and Mid-Suffolk councils)
  • Greater Gainsborough Housing Zone (West Lindsey district council)
  • Coseley Housing Zone (Dudley Metropolitan borough council)
  • Bescot Friar Park (Sandwell Metropolitan borough council)
  • Stoke City Centre Renaissance (Stoke City council)
  • Derby City Housing Zone (Derby City council)
  • Gedling Colliery (Gedling borough council)
  • Harworth, North Nottinghamshire (Bassetlaw district council)
  • Aire River Growth Corridor (Wakefield Metropolitan district council)
  • North East Lincolnshire Town Centre Living (North East Lincolnshire council)
  • York Central Housing Zone (City of York council)
  • Hoyland and Dearne Valley Housing Zone, Barnsley (Barnsley Metropolitan district council)
  • Exemplar Neighbourhood (Gateshead council)
  • Sheffield – Rotherham Don Valley Housing Zone (Sheffield City council)
  • Preston Housing Zone (Preston City council)
  • Penine-Lancashire (Blackburn with Darwen borough council)
  • Wirral Waters – North Bank East (Wirral Metropolitan borough council)
  • South Bristol HZ (Bristol City council)
  • Whitehill and Bordon (East Hampshire district council)
  • Weston Super Mare Town Centre (North Somerset council)
  • Weston Links/Avoncrest (North Somerset council)
  • Ashchurch (Tewkesbury borough council)
  • Hinkley Housing Zone (Sedgemoor district council)
  • Former Powerstation Site, Poole (borough of Poole council)
  • Foxhill (Bath and North East Somerset council)
  • Gloucester City Growth Zone (Gloucester City council)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.