Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Specialists Awards: The most special night of the year

It’s going to be a year when specialist sub-contractors will need more than ever to give themselves a competitive edge.

No one can take their ‘reputation’ or their ‘strong relationships’ or their ‘long history of excellence’ as a given. Companies are going to have try even harder than normal to prove themselves to main contractors and clients.

That’s why we are very proud to announce the launch of this year’s Specialists awards, the only awards scheme dedicated to recognising the contribution that specialist subcontactors make to the industry.

We have some new categories, including two designed to highlight the contribution of specialist subcontractors to some of the most innovative and technically challenging projects in the UK

We are also pleased that the NSCC is continuing to support the awards – their work in championing the rights and recognition of the sector perfectly mirrors our own aims.

You’ve got about two months to put together your entries. We’ve tried to keep it simple and it could be the most effective thing you doall year to raise your profile with clients and reward your own staff

Nick Edwards
Construction News

Why we are sponsoring the awards….

As sponsors of the Concrete Category over a number of years, CONSTRUCT actively promotes the choice of in situ concrete for use in structures.

The Specialist Awards highlight the achievements of companies, large and small, using concrete to build structures which have long term benefits over other materials.

The Specialist Awards encourage and recognise the skills of contractors working in the industry.

Robin Holdsworth, secretary of Construct, sponsor of the Concrete category

Why we enter the awards: Turner Access

The CN Awards have become the major awards for the construction trades. Turner Access, having dominated the scaffolding category by winning 3 out of the first 5 competitions, mirror sporting achievements found in Tennis, Golf and even Premier league Football. Why not compare us with the best in other walks of life, especially sport, say’s Gary Gallagher MD. A good Scaffolder needs strength, balance, stamina agility and vision to carry out the simplest of scaffolding projects.

The CN awards have provided Turner Access with the credibility and confirmation required, through truly top class independent judgement, led by Sir Michael Latham. This has established the company as an authority and indeed made us a leader in Scaffolding & Access. A company at the Vanguard of safer practice to prevent the risk of fall. The CN Awards have highlighted this leading practice and assisted Turner Access in establishing change and safer practice while working at height.

Gary Gallagher is Managing Director is Turner Access, winner of the access and scaffolding category

Why we enter the awards: Cuddy Group

“For us, the Specialists Awards mark an important annual event for the construction industry.

“Having been a finalist six times in the past, we were delighted to have finally won this esteemed award which reinforces, and gives credibility to, the claims that we are proud to boast. We know that the demolition category is always fiercely contested, which for us made this achievement even more rewarding.

“Especially in the current climate, clients need to invest their trust in hard-working, dependable and technically capable companies, and a specialist award is welcome recognition of your ability to demonstrate these qualities.

“We would encourage any contractor that strives to exceed expectations, to enter this awards scheme.”

John Cuddy is joint managing director of Cuddy group, winner of the Demolition category last year

Why we enter the awards: SES

 “Winning Best Building Services Company 2009 was, for us, about making a statement of intent in the most challenging of circumstances for the industry.  

“Internally, it’s been motivating - recognising the effort and ingenuity of staff as we continue to develop our services.  Externally, it re-affirms our market credentials with our clients, as a business that thinks and evolves in response to ‘challenge’.  As a leading Building Services provider, it’s helped raise our profile in key emerging sectors, like nuclear and waste where we have been developing new solutions. A very satisfying result all round.”

Mark Perkins is chief executive of SES, winner of the Building Services category last year

Suzannah Nichol is chief executive of the National Specialist Contractors Council

The Specialists Awards provides an excellent opportunity for specialist contractors to showcase their capabilities to the wider industry.

If you have completed a project that you and your team are proud of, met a particularly tight programme, overcome a complicated brief in challenging circumstances or demonstrated exceptional performance in some other way, don’t keep it to yourself!  Demonstrate your-award winning potential by entering the Specialists Awards.  You never know; 2010 could be your year.

Top tips for a winning entry

You don’t need to use a PR company to put together your entry! Just make sure it is:

  • Well presented
  • Illustrated with relevant photos
  • Spell checked!

Check it meets the entry requirements

  • 1,000  words
  • Upload online
  • Received by Construction News by 6 November 2009

Cover all the key points

  • What you actually did
  • The achievements, challenges and solutions delivered
  • Why you should win!

Ask a colleague to read your entry.

  • Is it enlightening
  • Logical
  • Enjoyable for the judges to read?

Good luck and I look forward to seeing you at the Awards Dinner on 4 March 2010!

Key dates

Deadline for entries: 6 November 2009

Awards night at the Hilton Park Lane, London: 4 March 2010

Find out about how to enter and the criteria for each entry a