Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Neil Cooper named new building regs chairman

Communities minister Andrew Stunell has announced that chartered surveyor Neil Cooper has been appointed as chairman of the Building Regulations Advisory Committee.

The managing director of MLM Building Control replaces Michael Finn who has served 20 years as a member and then chair of the BRAC which provides strategic and technical guidance to the government on building standards.

Mr Stunell said: “I would like to thank Michael Finn for his outstanding contribution in his 20 years as both member and Chair of the Building Regulations Advisory Committee. Under Michael’s leadership the committee has been instrumental in helping to deliver safe, healthy, accessible and sustainable buildings across the country.

“But I am sure that under Neil Cooper’s chairmanship, the committee will continue to play a key role, particularly given the increasing focus on Sustainability and energy efficiency of buildings. I very much look forward to working with him.”

Neil Cooper said: “I am delighted and privileged to be appointed to the position. The committee has made a positive and vital contribution to effective regulation under Michael’s leadership and I intend to ensure this continues.

“We face many challenges in respect of delivering sustainable buildings, as well as ensuring appropriate and achievable standards are in place to provide healthy and safe environments. I look forward to working with my colleagues to help the minister achieve this.”

Peter Caplehorn, Alan Crane and Stephen Wielebski have also been re-appointed to serve a further three-year term as members of the committee.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.