Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to the newest version of your browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of Construction News, please enable cookies in your browser.

Welcome to the Construction News site. As we have relaunched, you will have to sign in once now and agree for us to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

New chairman for rail regulator

Transport secretary Geoff Hoon has announced the appointment of Anna Walker as the new chairman elect of the Office of Rail Regulation.

Ms Walker is currently chief executive of the Healthcare Commission and will take up her new duties at the ORR on 5 July 2009 subject to pre-appointment scrutiny by the Transport Select Committee.

Her previous roles include deputy director general at the Office of Telecommunications during the mid-1990s; director general at the Department for Trade and Industry, responsible for the Government’s energy policy during the late 1990s; and director general for land use and rural affairs at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs from 2001 to 2004.

She replaces the current chairman, Chris Bolt, who was appointed for a five year term in July 2004.